LA Art Book Fair Extra Credit

I invited some friends to go with me to the LA Art Book Fair on Saturday. The day had a bad start because I thought we were going to meet at MOCA individually but we were actually supposed to meet at the Metro station so I ended up being an hour early. I decided to go ahead and just meet them there. I walked around for a bit to past the time, exploring the Walt Disney Music Hall, The Broad, and the Water Court! My friend called and asked where I was and I realized that I was at the wrong museum. OMG. It was a close enough walk and it would’ve taken longer if I took the bus so I just walked down to the other MOCA in Little Tokyo.

tumblr_o2iz9qv3fe1r28ovco1_1280

 

tumblr_o2iz9qv3fe1r28ovco2_1280tumblr_o2iz9qv3fe1r28ovco3_1280

The museum was filled with eccentric people, you could tell just by their clothing. It was our first time going to an art event like this so it took some time getting used to. Artists were selling their merchandise such as prints, buttons, clothing, zines, and tote bags. It was really cool to see all of the variety of styles in one place. There was also a lot of art pieces that confused us (there was a vendor selling painted rocks for $50???) but to each their own…

However there was one booth that caught my eye! It was the Giant Robot booth, a store that sells the art of multiple artists. This specific piece by Audrey Kawasaki was my favorite in the entire fair. The mystic atmosphere, subtle colors, and soft facial expression is what drew me to this. If I could, I would’ve gotten it but it was $110 for an unframed print!!

itwasyou_lj2

tumblr_o2iz9qv3fe1r28ovco4_1280

Me and the owner of Giant Robot! The print I was talking about is cut off but it’s there on the far right.

 

2 comments

  1. Hannah Mandias · February 14, 2016

    Omg Audrey Kawasaki is one of my biggest inspirations!!! 😭💖 her art is so beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glenn Zucman · February 16, 2016

    OMG Cathy! You went to the wrong MOCA! 😛

    Had you seen Disney Hall, The Broad, etc before? It’s pretty cool up there so not a waste of your time at least.

    The Broad is pretty cool. It just opened a few months ago. Admission is free. But you need a reservation. And you can’t get one because it’s booked for months. But you can do the standby line. During the week you might get in in 5 minutes. On the weekend standby can be long. But the last couple hours of Sat/Sun it gets short again.

    Great that you got to hang out at the Giant Robot booth! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

