Wk 5- Art Experience– Coiffure

In this week’s art assignment, we had to choose between cuisine, couture, or coiffure and then experiment with our idea. I chose coiffure.

Dying your hair different colors like pink or blue has skyrocketed in popularity over the past few years. I really like color ombres though, it’s a lot more subtle than an all over color  and you don’t have to worry about your roots growing out!!

I already bleached my hair about 2 years ago so all I had to worry about was the dye. I sectioned my hair into two pieces (thus the pigtails) and then began to make the dye!

Making hair dye is pretty simple, all you need is the dye and conditioner to mix it with. The more conditioner you add the more pastel you can make your color! I kept the dye fairly concentrated because the ends of my hair isn’t super blonde so I need more dye for the color to actually show up.

I was supposed to keep the dye in for 20-30 minutes but I kept it on for an hour, just to make sure that the color stays put and won’t wash out as early. I lost my natural lighting so I had to go to the bathroom to get a picture. The lighting definitely dulled down the color; its a bit brighter in person. tumblr_o2xjg1auy31r28ovco6_1280

I could’ve also dyed my blonde streak but I chose not to because I wanted to keep it a bit on the subtle side. But overall I had a lot of fun with the process! It made me want to go out and buy even more colors to dye my hair with!

Leave a Reply

