Wk 14- The Secret Life of Tumblr Teens

I started my blog, nekohy (feel free to take a look, and if you go far enough to see NSFW posts, I hope that you will turn a blind eye…), during the summer before my freshmen year in high school, so long ago that I can’t even see it in my archive. One of my old best friends, Stefanie, showed it to me and I thought I’d give it a try. Stefanie and I started off with similar blogs, both focusing on Asian fashion, Korean Pop, and girly pictures with deep quotes written on top. However as the years have gone, by our blogs (and our relationship) diverged. She continued with Asian fashion and in addition had posts about romance. Currently, my blog is filled with anime/manga, memes, and photography. What a combo. You can tell that I’m a pretty avid Tumblr user so I was interested in this article. I really like reading analyses (often on Tumblr about popular series) because I’m not really smart enough to think of these by myself so I often read about other people’s views and see if I agree or not. I was expecting this post to be about the strange culture that Tumblr created but I was met with an in-depth article exploring a world of Tumblr that I wasn’t even aware of.

I follow people who post about series I like, fan art, or those I know in real life. I never followed a blog that was solely comedy or just because it was popular so I didn’t know about Tumblr user pizza. I’ve seen their URL on my dash but I’ve never gone out of my way to check out their blog and give them a follow. The blogs that I follow don’t usually have ads on their theme so I didn’t even know that ads could be a huge source of revenue for the owners. The Great Termination of blogs honestly sounds like a myth to me because I’ve never seen anything about it on my dash, I was completely unaware that this even occurred. It always seemed highly unlikely that people can make money off of their blogs so I never really gave it a thought. I feel kinda about for Lilley and Greenfield because they gave up college to work in a growing network of internet websites only for it to dramatically die off.

Tumblr was once was a website where introverted nerds could come together and make a group of friends. Unfortunately I was not one of those people; I wasn’t popular in Tumblr. Over the 3 1/2 years, I just hit 400 followers. Recently I’ve noticed that Tumblr culture has spread all over the internet. Being a nerd is considered normal and self-deprecating jokes are relateable to everyone. It’s gotten so popular that it even affected our language mannerisms. “Same” and spelling out acronyms like “TBH” and ” SMH” are some examples. It’s really ironic how the current teenage culture is lead by a site that was originally made of up introverted teenagers who were seen as outcasts.

Leave a Reply

